Mt. SAC Board of Trustees


Judy Chen-Haggerty

Judy Chen Haggerty, Esq., Member
Area 6

Judy Chen Haggerty has served as a member of the Mt. SAC Board of Trustees since 2001. Trustee Chen Haggerty serves the area of Rowland Heights, a portion of Diamond Bar, and south Walnut.  She was the first Asian-American to serve on the Mt. SAC Board.  

In October 2019, she was the top vote getter for a director-at-large seat on the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Board.  She completed her term in 2022 as the only female Asian serving on the Board.  She is reprising her role on the ACCT Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, where she previously served as chair.  She has also served as chair of the Asian, Pacific Islander, and Native American Caucus.

Trustee Chen Haggerty’s leadership role in national and statewide projects advocating for diversity in the community college system includes being a founding member of the AAPITA (Asian American Pacific Islander Trustees and Administrators), six years working on the CLASS Initiative for Student Success, a longtime member of the Community College League of California’s Advisory Committee on Educational Services (ACES), an evaluation team member of the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC), and serving on the ACCT Charles Kennedy Equity Awards Committee for two years and as the 2019 Chair.

Trustee Chen Haggerty has been a practicing attorney since 1986, a community college law professor for 20 years, and currently serves on the governing board of Whittier Hospital Medical Center. Her 40-year community service profile includes: founding director of FORUS Foundation (Rowland Unified School District), founding president of Rowland Chinese Association, executive board member for the Mt. SAC Foundation, Vice President of the Rowland Heights Community Coordinating Council, board member of Walnut/Diamond Bar Sheriff’s Booster Club, member of Walnut Valley Rotary Club, and 10-year board member of the Presbyterian Intercommunity Hospital.

(re-elected 2022)